Visitor experience

The members of the DMT team perceive visitor experience as multidimensional. Our know-how shows that an exhibition with outstanding hands-on and minds-on exhibits is a great base for visitor experience. But a well-engineered high-tech exhibits isn’t useful, if usability hasn’t been integrated from the beginning of the development process. It is necessary to identify target groups and their needs in order to design an exhibition, which stimulates the visitors, where they are comfortable and get involved. The resulting positive word-of-mouth advertising and the positive viral effects lead to a higher recurring visitor group.

 

xCocos server

The xCocos (eXhibition Control and Configuration System) server is used for controlling, maintaining and data saving for cross-linked exhibitions with distributed interactive exhibits.

xcocos_schema

xCocos shows how many and which exhibits are active in the exhibition. All exhibits can be remote controlled with TeamViewer or VNC and operated. For example, the server starts up and shuts down the stations.

All stations can be fully automated be started and stopped at a certain time. It is possible to choose different times for every weekday. For examples it is possible to configure that the exhibition won’t start up when the museum is closed.

Several statistics provide information about changes of state, actions and other events.

ScreenShot007

Also IP cams can be controlled with xCocos.

ScreenShot008

Watchdog

Our Watchdog controls and monitors a single exhibit of an exhibition. It reports the xCocos Server and accepts commands from the server.

All programs, which are necessary for the exhibit, are started up by Watchdog, at the same time it opens a connection, so that the xCocos server is able to request the station’s state. Commands like start, reboot or shutdown can be sent from xCocos and will be received and executed by Watchdog.

If an application crashes, Watchog will automatically restart it.

It is possible to show a special application after the xCocos has sent the shutdown command. This can be used to say goodbye to the visitors.

Watchdog can also be used standalone, without the xCocos Server. It is also possible to configure different shutdown times for every weekday.

ScreenShot009

Visitor Experience

Wir vom Fachbereich DMT sehen Visitor Experience mehrdimensional. Unserer Erfahrung nach ist eine Ausstellung mit herausragenden Hands-on und Minds-on Installationen eine hervorragende Basis für Visitor Experience. Doch nutzen die ausgereiftesten High-tech Installationen wenig, wenn die Usability nicht von Beginn an in den Entwicklungsprozess integriert wird. Erst wenn die Zielgruppe und deren Bedürfnisse rechtzeitig erkannt und implementiert werden, fühlen sich BesucherInnen in einer Ausstellung wohl, gefordert und engagiert um die Inhalte aktiv zu rezipieren. Dies garantiert positive Mundpropaganda sowie positive virale Effekte und führt zu einer höheren Quote an wiederkehrenden BesucherInnen.

 

xCocos Server

Der xCocos (eXhibit Control and Configuration System) Server dient der Steuerung, Wartung und Datenspeicher für vernetzte Ausstellungen mit verteilten interaktiven Installationen.

xcocos_schema

Mittels xCocos sieht man sofort wie viele und welche Stationen in der Ausstellung aktiv sind. Man kann man alle Stationen der Ausstellung von remote überwachen und steuern. Zum Beispiel können die Stationen gestartet, gestoppt und mittels VNC ferngesteuert werden.

Alle Stationen werden zu bestimmten Zeiten vollautomatisch gestartet und gestoppt. Hier kann man für jeden Wochentag unterschiedliche Zeiten einstellen. So kann man zum Beispiel bestimmen, dass die Stationen an Schließtagen nicht gestartet werden.

Verschiedene Statistiken geben Auskunft über Statusänderungen, Aktionen und weitere Ereignisse.

ScreenShot007

Auch IP Webcams können über xCocos gesteuert werden.

ScreenShot008

Watchdog

Unser Watchdog steuert und überwacht eine einzelne Station in einer Ausstellung. Er berichtet dem xCocos Server und nimmt Befehle vom Server an.

Alle Programme, die für die Station wichtig sind, werden vom Watchdog gestartet, gleichzeitig öffnet er eine Verbindung, damit der xCocos Server den Status der Station abfragen kann. Befehle wie Start, Reboot oder Shutdown können vom xCocos Server gesendet und vom Watchdog empfangen und ausgeführt werden.

Falls eines der Programme abstürzt, wird es automatisch vom Watchdog neu gestartet.

Wird vom xCocos ein Shutdown-Befehl gesendet, so kann vor dem Herunterfahren des PCs noch eine bestimmte Anwendung für eine einstellbare Zeit anzeigen. Dies kann zum Beispiel dazu genutzt werden um die Besucher der Ausstellung zu verabschieden.

Watchdog kann aber auch standalone, ohne den xCocos Server, arbeiten. Man kann zum Beispiel für jeden Wochentag unterschiedliche Shutdown-Zeiten einstellen.

ScreenShot009